Plugged-In-Golf-White-on-Blue-e1597419240829

Get plugged in…

Edison Banner Cycle 2

  • Ball Flight Laws
  • Course Management
  • Mental Game
  • Equipment & Fitting
  • How to Practice
  • Fairway Woods
  • Training Aids
  • Rangefinders & GPS
  • Course Reviews
  • Fitness & Nutrition
  • Reader Reviews
  • Golf Myths Unplugged
  • Blue Ribbon Gear
  • Golf Courses & Travel
  • Golf Equipment
  • Play Better Golf
  • Buying Guides

Scotty Cameron Phantom X 8 & 8.5 Putter Review

More in reviews:.

Shot Scope MyStrategy

50 Words or Less

The Scotty Cameron Phantom X 8 putter is large, modern mallet.  Two toe hang options plus adjustable weighting.  Feel is much improved from recent Cameron putters.

phantom 8 review

Introduction

After a few years of small releases, Scotty Cameron came to the 2019 PGA Show with a massive line of new putters.  In all, there are nine new putters: five different heads, most with two neck options.  In this review, I’ll take a look at the Scotty Cameron Phantom X 8 and Phantom X 8.5.

phantom 8 review

There’s nothing traditional about the appearance of the Scotty Cameron Phantom X 8 putter.  That starts with the size and continues to the angular, futuristic shape .  At address, the Phantom X 8 and Phantom X 8.5 are the only all black putters in this line; every other  model has some silver.

Cameron refers to the Phantom X 8 as having “continuous alignment.”   Because there is no traditional top line, the milled alignment lines run the length of the putter uninterrupted.  The three dots define the sweet spot.  I prefer a putter without alignment aids, so I was surprised at how much I liked the look of the Phantom X, especially how the lines frame the ball.  The bright yellow paint will likely be a turn off to some, but it does provide sharp contrast.

phantom 8 review

Sound & Feel

In my opinion, the Phantom X putters have the best feel of any Scotty Cameron in quite a while .  The face and flange are one solid piece of milled 6061 aluminum.  This gives the putter a firm, solid feel on impact.

As you would expect from a mallet, small mishits are hard to feel.  Large mishits can be sensed in the hands, but you have to make an aggressively bad stroke to get this putter head to twist.

phantom 8 review

Performance

There is one key difference between the Phantom X 8 and the Phanton X 8.5: toe hang.  The Phantom X 8 is face-balanced .  Mr. Cameron goes overboard in referring to this as “Mid-Bend Shaft Technology,” but, marketing aside, this configuration is designed for the player with minimal face rotation in their stroke.

The Phantom X 8.5 has “Low-Bend Shaft Technology” which creates a slight toe hang .  This allows players with arcing strokes to take advantage of the performance benefits of a mallet.

The two major performance benefits of the Phantom X 8 are alignment and forgiveness .  I felt immediately comfortable aiming the Phantom X 8, and my results on short and medium range putts were excellent.  Additionally, these putters have the forgiveness you would expect from a modern mallet.  As long as you keep the ball near the center of the face, it will get to the hole on its intended line.

Finally, both Phantom X 8 models feature adjustable weight ports in the sole near the face.  Golfers can plug in weights of 10, 15, or 20 grams to customize the head weight to fit their swing weight preference.

phantom 8 review

The Phantom X putters are a stark departure from Scotty Cameron’s normal flow of traditional head styles.  With the Phantom X 8 and Phantom X 8.5, he offers an interesting, futuristic shape with bold alignment help and a variety of ways to customize the performance.

Recent Posts

Matt Saternus

  • Shot Scope MyStrategy Review - January 3, 2024
  • Podcast Episode 207 – Sandy Par Founder Brian Jones - January 3, 2024
  • Golfzon Wave Launch Monitor Review - January 2, 2024

10 Comments

' src=

It doesn’t look all that futuristic. Not gonna rush out to try it. No mention of suggested retail price.

' src=

I wouldn’t even be able to look at it, and I’m a mallet guy, a beat up old original GoLo Select, now wearing its fifth pistolino, lol.

' src=

Looks like they haven’t done anything to the face to make the ball role better technology wise

' src=

“It has to be a very bad mishit for the head to twist!” Was this based on ‘photo’s’ or feel? Because it’s widely accepted now, that ‘face balancing’ doesn’t prevent head twist! And in fact has little to do with ‘straighter putts’ or ‘putts holed’!

' src=

The line you paraphrase is from the “Sound & Feel” section, so you can assume it refers to the way the club feels. Who said anything about toe hang/face balancing relating to head twisting? This head doesn’t twist on mishits because it has high MOI.

' src=

Being a mallet guy playing now fangs style from Oddyssey (Nr. 7) and being happy with it, this is first Scotty which I am tempted to look at. These two paralel aiming lines are great and similar to fangs style. Years I played with one long line or three lines, but for me 2 lines like this is the best by far. i recommend trying to any mallet guy to give it a try, if you never had this 2 lines aiming aid.

' src=

Waiting for Mr. Cameron to get back to making real putters. Until then Mr. Cameron! BTW, I still use a Custom 009 Mr. Cameron made for me about ten years ago. No need for gimmicks, just putters!

' src=

I have a Newport 2 and it’s a classic that I love. That said I think these are outstanding putters with lots of choices for different strokes. I like the simple look of the #8.

' src=

I have a Red X (original & mark II) mallet putters, plus a GoLo #8 mallet putter. I am interested in a Phantom #8.5 mallet putter as well now provided the current price is right.

' src=

I’ve just put the 8.5 in the bag from a Newport 2. This putter is excellent. The feel is amazing, and the alignment lines really frame the ball well. I tend to struggle with alignment, and this system works well for me. I didn’t expect to like this putter, but I’m really enjoying it.

Leave a Comment Cancel

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Email Address

Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment.

phantom 8 review

  • Shot Scope MyStrategy Review
  • Podcast Episode 207 – Sandy Par Founder Brian Jones
  • Golfzon Wave Launch Monitor Review
  • An Iowa Escapade: The Spirit Hollow Stay and Play Experience
  • Free Fly Apparel Review

phantom 8 review

Contact Us Advertise Subscribe

Playwire

Advertise on this site.

Plugged In Golf

PIG_Twitter

Do You Like Free Golf Gear?

Sign up for our weekly newsletter and not only will you get the latest reviews, instruction, and more delivered directly to your inbox, you’ll also be entered into regular giveaways for golf clubs and more.

Roland Fantom-8 review

The long-awaited return of roland's high-spec synth workstation.

  • £3,519

Roland Fantom-8

MusicRadar Verdict

A versatile powerhouse with bags of connectivity. We’re looking forward to seeing how the Fantom ‘platform’ expands in the future.

Well-built with a clear, snappy touchscreen

Powerful step LFOs, multimode analogue filter/drive and great sequencing, sampling and effects

Streams multiple audio channels over USB, CV/gate outs

No dedicated tonewheel organ/EP engines

Not enough ‘bread and butter’ scenes. No full ‘linear’ audio track recording or user multisampling (currently). Piano-roll editing is quite basic (currently)

No rack version; bulky at 27kg

MusicRadar's got your back Our team of expert musicians and producers spends hours testing products to help you choose the best music-making gear for you. Find out more about how we test.

What is it?

Performance and verdict, the web says, hands-on demos, specifications.

The latest version of Roland ’s Fantom synth workstation has a brand-new, more direct interface, new sound engines and lots of connectivity/integration to bring things up-to-date. We’re looking at the 88-note Fantom-8 here, but you can also buy the Fantom-7 and Fantom-6, which have 76 and 61 keys respectively.

The new Fantom ‘platform’ uses Roland’s latest Zen-Core tech (basically a powerful new unified engine that contains PCM, V-Piano modelling and VA waves, in this instance), with processing headroom for future engine upgrades and additions.

The way the Fantom operates now revolves around ‘Scenes’. A Scene is much like the old Live Set (256 are available, more would be nice!) and is basically a container or snapshot of everything on the front panel.

One Scene can be made up of up to 16 Zones (each Zone contains controller and MIDI info, plus key ranges for controlling the native engines and external MIDI gear). Each Zone then contains a Tone (a Tone can contain up to four partials/oscillators). Each partial (oscillator) within a Tone can contain a completely different sound engine, including the modelled V-Piano engine, PCM (samples), VA modelling (up to nine wave types including Juno, SuperSaw, PCM-Sync or Noise). So there’s a lot on offer. 

PCM banks A and B contain 963 and 257 samples respectively, giving a total of 1,220 raw partial waves to build on across the four partials available within a Tone. To bring things further up-to-date, you’ll also find new Tones from the AX-Edge keytar, alongside classics from the Integra-7 and XV-5080, though there are none of the lovely Supernatural Acoustic Tones onboard (yet). 

Regarding hands-on control, there’s the standard issue Roland mod/bender, several assignable switches, two wheels (like the JD-XA) plus eight faders with LED level and LED ring dials for each of the 16 Zones (8 x 2 banks), plus one fader for USB audio streaming level from your DAW.

There are six high-resolution clickable knobs for editing under the screen (linked to six key performance parameters). Then you also get direct oscillator, filter, envelope and effect controls right on the front panel, which take you directly to the main areas of a sound you’d most likely want to edit on the fly. Roland has done a great job keeping things simple but effective, especially considering the power under the hood. 

In addition, there are 16 TR8-style step buttons for step-sequencing, which also take you directly to 16 instrument categories (to speed up editing and performing) and a rhythm track which allows you to chain drum patterns/sync them to the sequencer and then easily switch between each section/pattern onscreen. Finally, you have 16 pads (four banks) and these can be used for triggering notes, samples, audio, MIDI (internal/external), sequences and more besides.  

The Fantom-8 has a high-quality, great-feeling wooden PHA-50 keybed (like the RD-2000) but with aftertouch. All the new Fantoms feel and look the part and are built solidly throughout, with a metal front panel and under-key lip, plastic for the rear, sides and controllers panel and what appears to be a particle board base.

Switches feel positive, knobs and dials are smooth and high resolution, panel lighting is great for navigating and viewing stored values of knobs, and the new large colour touchscreen is the snappiest I’ve used in a workstation.

In fact, Roland has come up with the most intuitive workstation UI/UX design we’ve laid hands on to date; you can get at everything directly from the front panel yet, even when you dig deep, the Fantom never gets overwhelming (as the Yamaha Montage/Kronos can at times), plus all the lettering onscreen is of a size that can actually be read comfortably! 

• Korg Kronos 88 • Yamaha Montage 8 • Nord Stage 3 88

The new Fantom has a wide, warm, precise sound (with a tilt to the brighter/high-mid character) but with a punchy low end. With all the engines, deep-step LFOs and comprehensive modulation facilities, control matrix, Structures, VA filters and dual-IFX per-Zone (plus chorus and reverb), it feels engaging.

The stereo multimode analogue filter/drive (a workstation first) adds welcome character, and the V-synth-style Motional Pad (on screen) morphs seamlessly between four sounds. 

Downsides? Well, the Fantom would benefit from a dedicated V-Electric Piano engine with the same detailed control and full polyphony/note tuning as the excellent V-Piano engine. It also misses a dedicated VK-tonewheel organ engine (and those Zone faders are crying to be auto-mapped drawbars)!

Full ACB analogue-modelling engines (as in the System-8/Cloud) would also be welcome inclusions, along with linear audio tracks/user multisampling, and currently, Scene saving wasn’t saving all our tweaks.

However, these are early days for the new Fantom platform; Roland has laid the solid groundwork, which we’re sure will be expanded and improved soon. A solid return indeed! 

MusicRadar verdict: A versatile powerhouse with bags of connectivity. We’re looking forward to seeing how the Fantom ‘platform’ expands in the future.

"This is the workstation that the keyboard world needed. With so many people going the MIDI controller route, this is a breath of fresh air for the community." Keyboard Kraze

Guitar Center

  • Keyboard: 88 Keys (PHA-50 Wood and Plastic Hybrid Structure, with Escapement and Ebony/Ivory Feel, channel aftertouch)
  • Sound Generator: ZEN-Core, V-Piano Technology
  • Parts: 16 Zones (Internal + External)
  • Scenes: 128 Scenes x 4 Bank
  • Tones: Over 3,500 Tones, over 90 Drum kits
  • Multi-Effects: 16 systems, 90 types
  • Part EQ: 16 systems
  • Drum Part COMP: 6 systems
  • Insertion Effect: 2 System, 90 Types
  • Chorus: 8 types
  • Reverb: 6 types
  • Master Compressor
  • Mic Input Reverb: 6 types
  • Analog Filter STEREO; Type: LPF1/LPF2/LPF3/HPF/BPF/Bypass, Drive, Amp
  • MIDI Tracks: 16 (Internal/External)
  • Pattern: 8 (per each Track)
  • Pattern Length 32 measures
  • Recording Method: Realtime recording, Step recording, TR-REC
  • Format: 16-bit linear, 44.1/48kHz, WAV/AIFF import supported
  • Maximum Polyphony: 8
  • Number of samples: 16 Pads x 4 Banks
  • Rhythm Pattern, Arpeggiator, Chord Memory
  • Controllers: Pitch Bend/Modulation Lever, Assignable Switch x 2 (S1/S2), Control Knob x 8, Slider x 8, USB Audio Slider, Wheel x 2, Function Knob x 6, Sound Modified Knob x 11, 4 x 4 Pad
  • Display: Graphic Type, 7", Wide VGA (800 x 480 dots), backlit LCD (Color/Touch screen)
  • Connectors: Headphones Jack: Stereo 1/4-inch phone type; MAIN OUT Jacks (L/MONO, R) (1/4-inch phone type); MAIN OUT Jacks (L, R) (XLR type); SUB OUT1 Jacks (L, R) (1/4-inch phone type); SUB OUT2 Jacks (L, R) (1/4-inch phone type); ANALOG OUTPUT Jacks(1,2)(1/4-inch phone type); Mic/Line Input Jacks: (1,2) (1/4 inch phone type/XLR type); 2 x CV OUT, 2x GATE OUT; FOOT PEDAL Jacks (HOLD, CTRL1,CTRL2,CTRL3); MIDI connectors (IN, OUT1, OUT2/THRU); USB MEMORY Port; USB COMPUTER Port (AUDIO/MIDI); 3 x External Device Port
  • Width: 1,432 mm
  • Depth: 439 mm
  • Height: 153 mm
  • Weigh 27.7 kg6

MusicRadar

MusicRadar is the number one website for music-makers of all kinds, be they guitarists, drummers, keyboard players, DJs or producers...

PreSonus Eris 3.5BT review

The 5 George Harrison post-Beatles songs you need to hear: “I write lyrics and I make up songs, but I'm not a great lyricist or songwriter or producer. It's when you put all these things together — that makes me"

Watch Greg Phillinganes recreate Michael Jackson’s Thriller using the original synths

Most Popular

By Computer Music 22 December 2023

By Chris Corfield 21 December 2023

By Computer Music 21 December 2023

By Matt McCracken 21 December 2023

By Rob Laing 18 December 2023

By Jonathan Horsley 15 December 2023

By Alex Lynham 14 December 2023

By Rob Laing 14 December 2023

By Andy Jones 13 December 2023

By Alex Lynham 13 December 2023

By Rob Laing 12 December 2023

Roland Fantom-08 review: Road-testing the all-rounder workstation

Multi-instrumentalist Andrea Smith takes the portable and powerful instrument across a European tour and reports her (mostly) impressive findings.

Roland Fantom-08

Review Overview

Our verdict.

Keyboard workstations: just a lust for old-school tools? Or a bedroom musician’s new best friend? We think Roland’s new Fantom-08 synthesizer is the latter. Gear forums are full of seasoned enthusiasts bemoaning ‘today’s kids and their plugins’ but can you blame them when high-quality hardware costs so much?

  • READ MORE: Cherry Audio Sines review: A sine wave monster with near-infinite ways to shape your sound

Roland’s made many different Fantoms over the years and navigating their differences can get perplexing. The top-of-the-range Fantom-8 will set you back an eye-watering £3,500. The confusingly-named Fantom-08, reviewed here, is a streamlined version of the flagship Fantom-8. It gives you the same hands-on workflow, massive ZenCore synth engine, and rich sequencing and sampling capabilities of its namesake at £1,750 – just under half the price. It’s versatile, packed with massive sounds, and loads of fun to create with. The catch? There’s no one big one, but rather a few little ones that avid piano players, session pros, or studio-heads will likely see as dealbreakers. But it’s a dream come true for a very specific type of musician.

The Fantom-08 might be aimed towards bedroom artists but it holds its own on even the biggest stages. For the past month, we’ve been on the road with one to see how it performs under the pressures of a pop tour.

Andrea Smith with the Roland Fantom-08

Sound-wise, ZenCore tech means thousands of pro-level vintage and modern sounds are included. The SuperNatural Acoustic, Acoustic Piano, and Electric Piano engines are incredibly detailed with the strings being a particular standout. You can use the pitch bend lever to achieve realistic orchestral swells and the S1 and S2 assignable switches to quickly and naturally switch between staccato, pizzicato, and tremolo articulations on the same sound. We found ourselves heavily favouring the Fantom-08’s strings over that of the Nord Stage 3, which it’s been sharing the stage with.

For under half the price, you get well over half the performance capability of the flagship Fantom. However, it doesn’t come with Roland’s incredibly detailed V-Piano engine, which keen pianists might find is a dealbreaker.

Physically, the Fantom-08’s weighted keys are just…fine. The keybed and action don’t have the satisfying feel of pricier keyboards like the Nord Stage – and the lack of aftertouch is unfortunate. In fact, the whole keyboard feels slightly toy-like in comparison. The tradeoff is its weight: a mere 14.8kg – every roadie’s dream.

Roland Fantom-08

What isn’t dreamy is Roland’s awkward terminology and programming workflow. In place of patches or programs we have ‘Scenes’, instruments are ‘Zones’ and sounds are called ‘Tones’.

Within each scene, you can go on a programming bender and save up to 16 layered zones. Feeling adventurous? You could fill all 16 zones with Zen-Core tones, each with four oscillators that you can filter, EQ, and add effects to individually. Then you can filter, EQ, and add effects to each of those zones. Then do the same at scene level and top it off with master effects. All that luscious detail can be recalled in one tap.

This seems like a wonderful idea until you actually try it out. The workflow is choppy and confusing and it’s very easy to save a scene without saving tone edits and vice versa. Also, Scene Remain – which lets you switch between patches seamlessly – is limited to just eight zones on the Fantom-08. This means any scenes with more than eight zones will cut out when you switch between scenes. This is all likely also a dealbreaker for many pros. The flagship Fantom doesn’t have this constraint.

Roland Fantom-08

You might be willing to live with these limitations for two reasons: you can effortlessly set keyboard splits at any key; and as a MIDI controller, it’s superb. An external instrument becomes another zone in your scene that you can layer, split, and add effects to – this is Incredibly useful in live performances. And compared to more expensive keyboards, programming MIDI parameters is a breeze.

Workstations as a songwriting and production tool are fairly retro. The Fantom-08’s sequencer embraces this with a nod to the iconic TR-808 drum machine of 1980. You can program the clip sequencer in real-time or step mode using the classic TR-REC pattern sequencer found on those beloved machines. You can then organise your patterns into groups and construct those into full songs – all without touching a mouse. It’s a gratifying way to get inspired and we’re happy to see piano roll editing on-screen as well.

As fun as this is, the complexity, affordability, and screen real-estate of composing on your computer is just too alluring. However, for gigging producers, Fantom-08 can be the ultimate life hack. The built-in audio interface and DAW integration with Logic Pro , Mainstage and Ableton Live aren’t exactly revolutionary in the studio, but it’s a gamechanger on stage. No more balancing a laptop on a music stand that’s blocking your view of the crowd.

Roland Fantom-08

The Fantom-08’s touchscreen is a discreet way to run your backing tracks and control your DAW while performing. Advanced output routing means you can send a click and tracks to your monitors and route your performance and tracks to the house, all using the keyboard’s interface. Plug into the mic input and use Fantom-08’s effects on your vocals; add in the 32-band stereo vocoder and DIY electro-heads will swoon. Ironically enough, the Fantom-08 doesn’t have phantom power so dynamic mics only and it’s a quarter-inch mic input, not an XLR which is frustrating.

Electronic artists and budding pop session players will get tons of value from the sampler section. Want to ditch the laptop completely? Upload your backing tracks and samples – up to 60 minutes or 2GB worth – and trigger them live with the 16 pads. You can also record directly to the pads using onboard sounds, your DAW, or the mic input. Capture or import to the keyboard multisampler for an instantly-pitched custom sound that you can manipulate just like the onboard tones. The options here are limitless.

With the Fantom-0 series, Roland’s set out to give wider access to its famed Fantom workstation. The Japanese brand definitely delivers. Seasoned pros might baulk at what it’s lacking compared to its namesake – aftertouch being an especially emotional trigger point for many – but the Fantom-8’s £3,500 price makes it an extravagant luxury for bedroom artists. Based on what the smaller, lighter, Fantom-08 brings to the table for the jack-of-all-trades musicians that today’s industry is shifting towards, at £1,750 it’s an absolute steal.

Andrea Smith with the Roland Fantom-08

Key Features

  • 88 weighted-action keys with Escapement and Ivory Feel
  • ZenCore and SuperNatural tech
  • Virtual ToneWheel organ with physical drawbars
  • Over 3,500 tones and 90 drum kits included
  • Storage for 128 scenes x 4 banks
  • Multi-effects engine with 16 systems and 90 types
  • DAW integration with Ableton, Logic/Mainstage
  • Quarter-inch headphone jack; quarter-inch balanced L/R TRS Main Out, L/R Sub Out; eighth-inch stereo phones Sub Out; quarter-inch L/R Line Inputs, TRS Mic Input; five-pin MIDI In/Out; USB Computer port, Memory port, External device port
  • Realtime and TR-REC pattern sequencer
  • 16 pad sampler and keyboard multisampler
  • 32 band stereo vocoder
  • 1393mm x 354mm x 138mm
  • Contact Roland
  • Buy: Gear4music , Andertons

Get the latest news, reviews and tutorials to your inbox.

Trending Now

1 back to school with dillon francis: why a maturing music career still needs class clown antics, 2 2023’s best new free plugins and virtual instruments, 3 paris producer maison blanche draws for rave-o-lution 309 drums on new ep, ‘food for soul’, 4 sonos’ move 2 might just be 2023’s best portable speaker.

  • Buying Guides
  • Equipment News
  • Equipment Reviews
  • Instruction

Ping Zone

Scotty Cameron Phantom X Putters Review

Martin Hopley

The Scotty Cameron Phantom X range replaces the Futura line of mallet putters and Scotty decided to give it a new name because the Phantom putters use a new style of head design.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X Putter

The aim is to create high MOI mallets that are more mid-sized so that they will appeal to better players who currently use blade style putters. Like before they are made from 303 stainless steel and 6061 aluminium, but it is the way the two are blended that is new.

Previously the aluminium face was used as an insert, or as in the Futura it would wrap around the sole and the front of the face, with a silver steel border across the top line.

Now in the Phantom X the whole of the face is black aluminium and it will either wrap around the front of the putter from the crown or the sole, depending on which of the five different head styles you choose.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X Putter

The aim is to improve the sound and hence the feel. As a fan of all metal putters, I find the softer aluminium gives great feedback whilst maintaining that solid metal feel.

The face has 3.5° of loft and is a little shallower than the Futura. It is also tapered towards the heel and toe to give the visual impression that it is hugging the ground at address.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X Putter

The other standout feature is the neon yellow on black alignment lines, which is not traditional Scotty Cameron, but through much research this visual combo is supposed to stand out the best.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X Putter

My initial reaction is that the colour scheme probably doesn't really go with the premium price tag, but after putting with it, I am warming to it and to be fair, it does the job very well.

There are lots of visual options for dots, lines and different crown styles for the numerically numbered models. The 5 has the dots on a raised leading edge, whereas the 6 and the 8 have the lines flowing over the top to the front of the face.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X Putter

There is also a new Pistolero Plus grip that takes this classic shape and makes the butt under your top hand thicker, as if you had two layers of tape underneath it.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X Putter

It is lovely to hold and offers a nice combination of the style of a traditional grip and the slightly thicker nature of modern grips.

So how do you choose which model to go for? I went along to a Scotty Cameron fitting session with Nick to understand the differences and see how the decision should be made.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X Putter

Using video we first checked my posture and stroke to see if I had the right length from the three options of 33, 34 and 35 inch shafts.

As with all Scotty Camerons, the different length shafts come with variable sole weights to ensure that the swing weight is consistent. This means there are 10g weights in the heads on the 35 inch shafts, 15g in the 34 inch and 20g in the 33 inch.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X Putter

The 35 inch length was the best for me and so we went on to finding the right 'Toe Flow', or face balance to you and me.

The are three options of hosel style to create different head balances. The Mid-Bend creates a virtually neutral face balanced putter and the Straight is a slight toe hang. The Low-Bend with the .5 designation gives the most toe hang, but as you can see below it is still not that great in the big scheme of things.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X Putter

Using a 20 foot putt, we narrowed it down to the face balanced Mid-Bend for me, which is also ideal as every Phantom X model comes with this shaft option.

One aside is that Nick was able to show me my posture and eye position on video and make some suggestions based on his experience fitting thousands of golfers. This is because posture is key to getting your eyes in the right position, probably over or just inside the ball at address.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X Putter

If done correctly, a putter fitting really becomes part fitting, part lesson and the Scotty Cameron experience is exactly this.

You then pick the model that best suits your needs, so I will go through the all the Phantom X models I tested during my fitting.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X 5 Putter Review

The 5 is a wing backed mallet with a raised leading edge and the aluminium wrapping around underneath.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X 5 Putter

It's probably the most compact of the heads and also the one with the highest pitched sound, probably due to the open design of the rear of the putter.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X 5 Putter

Compared to the other models, it didn't sound as good to me, but try it for yourself because sound equals feel and everyone listens for different tones.

Scotty is big on sound and feel as that audible feedback will help you judge distance better, so that is why his fitting process is done more with visual and audible feedback than with putter launch monitors.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X 6 Review

The 6 model continues the wrap under theme and partly fills in the section between the steel wings with an aluminium crown that flows under the head and on to the face.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X 6 Putter

This model probably sounded the best to me and is the only one that comes in a Straight shaft option, which I would recommend if you like a firmer feel at impact. The 6 STR is the only model with a black sight line as the 3 yellow dots reflect in the centre shaft otherwise.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X 6 Putter

Scotty Cameron Phantom X 7 Review

The 7 model in the middle of the range was the Goldilocks version for me. I preferred the over the top design of the aluminium and the longer alignment lines.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X 7 Putter

The sole still has some open sections in it which keeps the sound feedback where I like it. It is my personal choice from the range and I think this will have a lot of admirers in the market.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X 7 Putter

It is also the only model available in a left hand version, which is a little surprising.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X 8 Review

The 8 model takes this a stage further and fills in the gaps of the 7 with a crown that flows continually over the top to the face.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X 8 Putter

You can't see any of the steel wings at address, so it has a very distinctive look and the sound is more muted than the 6 and 7.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X 8 Putter

However Nick was saying when has been on Tour, this is the model that has proved most popular with Tour Players.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X 12 Review

Finally the 12 is your highest MOI model as it is basically a 7 with rear wings to draw the weight back and out to the corners to increase the MOI.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X 12 Putter

It is also the largest head, so if you like help keeping the head square then the 12 is the one for you as it only comes in the Mid-Bend shaft to make it face balanced.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X 12 Putter

I think it looks good, but the sound was back to being a little 'thin' and high pitched, which given the shape and gaps in the larger head, is not really a surprise.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X Putter Verdict

On first glance, the Phantom X seems quite simple and you might judge it on the looks and then struggle to get past the big issue of the price, which is, well, big.

I have done the Titleist putter fitting process a few times now and whilst it does seem a bit old school doing everything by sight and sound, it does help you understand the differences between the models and how they will react in real life on the course.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X Putter

Once you get into the materials, shaft bends and head shapes then you realise a lot of thought has gone into the Phantom X and there should be at least one model that you will fall in love with. That is really all you need, as if you love your putter and get the right style, set up and sound feedback, then you will probably hole more putts.

The alignment lines are more in your face than previous models and whilst I still can't say I love them, I am probably going to say I respect them, because they do the job better than the smaller lines on the Futura range.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X Putter

Whilst all Scotty Cameron mallets are works of art, with high end materials and production, sometimes staying with classic steel heads and black and white lines doesn't pull the heart strings, especially in the premium market.

In this respect, the Futura range played it safe, but the Phantom X range is certainly making a statement, which you may or may not like. However, at least it is creating a reaction and I like them for that reason.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X Putter

I feel that an all metal putter is always the best for sound feedback and using aluminium in the face combines that with a softer feel. In the Phantom X range, Titleist seem to have finally got the combination of aluminium and steel in the head about right.

Once you have justified all this to yourself, then the only thing left to justify is the price. There are putters that will probably do just as good a job for you for less than half the price of a Phantom X and I can't give you any good reason not to choose them.

However if you do have the wherewithal and like what the Phantom X is offering then I still think they are worth the extra investment as they are the best mallet range Scotty Cameron has done to date.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X Putters

Phantom x inspiration.

Titleist Scotty Cameron Phantom X Putter

Titleist Scotty Cameron Phantom X Putter - Product Details

Write a review, facebook comments, related news.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X Putters 2019

Scotty's most technically advanced putters to date

Titleist T100 23 Irons Review

Titleist T100 23 Irons Review

Stunning sleek iron provides great feel for elite players

Titleist T150 23 Irons Review

Titleist T150 23 Irons Review

The new model in the lineup put to the test...

TaylorMade Spider Tour Z Putter Review

TaylorMade Spider Tour Z Review

Great looking compact model added to Spider range

Odyssey White Hot Versa Three T Putter Review

Odyssey WH Versa Three T Review

Versa returns trying to re-earn its stripes on the green

Titleist Players 4 Plus StaDry Golf Bag Review

Titleist Players 4 Plus StaDry Bag

Waterproof protection combines with classic Titleist styling

Odyssey Ai-One Milled Six T Putter Review

Odyssey Ai-One Milled Six T Putter

How much would you pay to cut out those three-putts?

Odyssey Ai-One #1 Putter Review

Odyssey Ai-One #1 Putter Review

New AI face technology designed to leave you closer to the hole

Titleist TSR3 Hybrid Review

Titleist TSR3 Hybrid Review

New adjustable track helps this players-only hybrid stand out

Odyssey Ai-One Rossie Putter Review

Odyssey Ai-One Rossie Putter Review

Jon Rahm's Ryder Cup-winning putter tested here!

Most Popular

Bushnell tour v6 shift laser rangefinder review, r&a and usga announce golf ball rollback, takomo 301 cb irons review, odyssey ai-one milled six t putter review, what's in the bag: max homa, taylormade spider tour putter review, what's in the bag: erik van rooyen, what's in the bag: ludvig aberg.

Scotty Cameron Phantom X Putters Review

Joel Tadman tests out the new Phantom X putters released by Scotty Cameron.

  • Sign up to Golf Monthly Newsletter Newsletter

Scotty Cameron Phantom X Putters Review

These elegant putters will mostly suit current mallet users, those with straighter strokes or golfers that prioritise a forgiving, stable clubhead that is easy to align. They will also unquestionably add a touch of class to any bag.

Less address footprint

Forgiveness

Firm, stable feel and premium aesthetics

Loud 'ping' sound at impact

Why you can trust Golf Monthly Our expert reviewers spend hours testing and comparing products and services so you can choose the best for you. Find out more about how we test .

Joel Tadman

This popular mallet range was recently extended with the launch of the Phantom X 11.5 model and this certainly enhances the offering. It is undoubtedly more traditional in looks - gone is the yellow color scheme and in comes a white sightline on a black flange, making alignment easer to see.

The squat mallet shape is also very appealing - it is large enough to offer great stability without looking or feeling cumbersome. Performance wise, this putter is excellent. It was consistent from long range and short putts fell in with regularity, just because of how well balanced the overall design was and the resulting timing we were able to achieve.

We also really enjoyed the stock pistol grip, which is thicker at the top to sit in your hands more comfortably and encourage better control of pace and the face.

If you're looking for a premium-looking mallet that performs, the Scotty Cameron 11.5 is one of the best putters out there right now.

2020 Scotty Cameron Phantom X Putters Review

Crafted from the best materials with the attention to detail you expect from Scotty Cameron, the Phantom X mallet range really is a thing of beauty. There are nine different head-shape and shaft-bend options to choose from, each offering something a little different depending on your visual preferences and stroke type.

We naturally gravitated towards the .5 models, which have a lower shaft bend that provides a little more toe hang. This helps ease the transition from a blade-style putter.

 The other helping hand comes from the fact these putters are a little smaller than you expect, especially compared with the oversized Futura range, without seemingly any drop off in forgiveness.

You’ll notice the loud, high-pitched ‘ping’ at impact. This is a result of the very shallow face milling and might not be to everyone’s taste. The milling pattern also contributes to what is quite a firm yet responsive feel.

The #5.5 is the smallest in the range and is ideal for those who don’t want to be bombarded with sightlines. The all-black top of the #8.5 (right), with its long, neon yellow sightlines, not only helps frame the ball but also lets you see the path of your stroke.

In terms of looks and overall performance, though, it was the #12 model that really stood out. It felt the most stable and the smoothest overall.

The new Pistolero Plus grips are still quite slim but do have less taper at the bottom to create more even grip pressure across both hands. There are five different grip options available

Get the Golf Monthly Newsletter

Tips on how to play better, latest equipment reviews, interviews with the biggest names and more.

Joel has worked in the golf industry for over 12 years covering both instruction and more recently equipment. He now oversees all product content here at Golf Monthly, managing a team of talented and passionate writers and presenters in delivering the most thorough and accurate reviews, buying advice, comparisons and deals to help the reader find exactly what they are looking for. So whether it's the latest driver, irons, putter or laser rangefinder, Joel has his finger on the pulse keeping up to date with the latest releases in golf. He is also responsible for all content on irons and golf tech, including distance measuring devices and launch monitors.

One of his career highlights came when covering the 2012 Masters he got to play the sacred Augusta National course on the Monday after the tournament concluded, shooting a respectable 86 with just one par and four birdies. To date, his best ever round of golf is a 5-under 67 back in 2011. He currently plays his golf at Burghley Park Golf Club in Stamford, Lincs, with a handicap index of 3.2.

Joel's current What's In The Bag?  

Driver: Titleist TSR3 , 9° 

Fairway wood: Titleist TSR3 , 15° 

Hybrid: Titleist TSi2 , 18° 

Irons: Ping i230  4-UW

Wedges: Titleist Vokey SM8 , 54°. Titleist Vokey SM9 60° lob wedge, K Grind

Putter: Evnroll ER2V  

Ball: 2023 Titleist Pro V1x

The four-time PGA Tour winner is one of several high-profile names auditioning for the lead analyst role on NBC Sports' golf coverage after Paul Azinger's departure in 2023

By Jonny Leighfield Published 3 January 24

A professional golf photographer and blogger from Seattle managed to play 580 different 18-hole courses in 365 days to break the world record.

By Joel Kulasingham Published 3 January 24

From new caddies to a couple of star names being absent from the field, The Sentry is set to throw up several key talking points as the opening event of the 2024 season

  • Contact Future's experts
  • Terms and conditions
  • Privacy policy
  • Accessibility statement
  • Cookies policy

Golf Monthly is part of Future plc, an international media group and leading digital publisher. Visit our corporate site . © Future Publishing Limited Quay House, The Ambury, Bath BA1 1UA. All rights reserved. England and Wales company registration number 2008885.

Techweez

TECNO Phantom 8 Review: Great Dual Camera Phone but There’s More

Tecno Phantom 8 Front

Together with a robust marketing strategy, it is not difficult to ascertain why these devices fly off the shelves. In fact, there are occasions I have walked into a shop, only to be told that a certain Tecno model is unavailable because people scooped them all. Retailers love devices that fly off their shelves, and by extension, the OEM, which is Tecno in this case, sees gainful strides in terms of revenue. Generally speaking, it appears that Tecno has used these revenues in the best way possible (those commercials you see on TV, print and online media are costly) – and the results are evident.

The device of the hour is the Tecno Phantom 8. I have played with this baby for some time, and I’m fairly certain that I’m in a better position to give readers a concrete overview about it. In case you are not aware, the device was unveiled in Dubai in October , and a local launch was done in mid-November. The Phantom 8 is the successor of last year’s duo, the Phantom 6 and 6 Plus. No, a generation has not been skipped. Rather, this is how phone manufacturers roll nowadays. Samsung Galaxy S8 and Note 8? iPhone 8 and 8 Plus? See the correlation? Great.

That said, lets dive in.

Key specs and hardware overview

The Phantom 8 is a large device. I get most of us are used to large phones, which range from the budget segment all the way to premium devices. Large phones are mainstream; in fact, the term phablet has since been phased out for the same reason. Stretching at 5.7”, this is a good balance between the Phantom 6 with its 5.5” diagonal and a 6.0” for the Plus. It should also be noted that it uses IPS technology. It looks good enough for its price, and while I wish it were brighter in outdoor conditions and a tad dimmer during those late-night stalking activities, it admirable nonetheless. At 1920 by 1080, it packs sufficient pixels as well, so images and videos will look crisp.

phantom 8 review

What is more, you can tune the screen your liking with MiraVision. The tool allows adjustment of picture mode, where colours can be changed to a vivid, standard or user mode. Depending on your eyeballs, you can pick what suits you best. Personally, I prefer the standard mode, which, if you are really keen, tends to oversharpen images. It is something I have mostly noticed especially when watching videos. It is not a deal breaker, and there is a good chance you will not observe the artefact.

When ‘user mode’ is enabled, you will access additional metrics such as basic colour tuning in terms of contrast and saturation, advanced colour tuning that includes adjustments in sharpness and colour temperatures, as well as a video enhancement toggle. I’m glad these settings are here for those who want their screen to render in certain manner. All in all, this a great display for media consumption. You will not be disappointed.

Everything else on the front panel is pretty standard. At the top, an earpiece is flanked by a 20 MP camera and LED flash. A notification LED, thankfully, is included. The lip of the phone is equipped with capacitive keys, which, sadly, are not backlit. I’m yet to understand why this decision was made, but I hope Tecno abandons them for modern, onscreen buttons. Also, you will notice that the device has sizeable bezels that unnecessarily increase the overall footprint of the device.

The back of the device is plastic (not a necessarily bad decision), which does a nice job of aping glass – but looks beautiful if you manage to keep it clean. In my opinion, the material choice does not bother me, but glass should have been a better choice because it is more premium. Anyway, it is a fingerprint blackhole and accumulates smudges at an alarming rate. Worse, it easily scratches. Both can be mitigated by snapping in the included clear, sturdy case. It increases the mass of the device, but on the bright side, your Phantom 8 will be protected.

Notably, 2017 continues to be the year of dual camera sensors, and the Phantom 8 fits into that narrative. It packs 12 MP and 13 MP cameras with a slight protrusion at the back with a triple-tone LED flash. The fingerprint scanner, which is favourably recessed is above the TECNO logo. A subtle Phantom 8 branding is present as well.

The sides, which are metallic for sturdiness, are home for a hybrid SIM slot (left), volume rocker and power key on the right, a headphone jack at the top (I prefer it at the bottom) as well as a speaker grill and a modern USB C port at the bottom. It is a complete package that does not skip on the basics.

Handling and feel is fantastic, although a tad heavy and slippery. These are issues that can be corrected if Tecno decides to drop the now older screen aspect ratio at 16:9 for a newer. 18:9 AR. That way, Tecno can even fit a larger display on shrunken footprint, which is all we want.

You can check what is under the hood on this spec sheet post but as a recap, there are 6 gigs of RAM, a MTK Helio P25 chipset and a 3500 mAh battery that supports very fast charging.

Battery performance

Tecno may have reduced the size of the Phantom 8 in comparison to its predecessors but that does not mean longevity has seen a cut as well. Admittedly, for the first two days, I was quite unimpressed with battery behaviour, until the device miraculously learned my usage pattern. It is great, to say the least.

My usage pattern includes heavy online music streaming via Bluetooth speakers, heavy use of social media, media consumption via YouTube and occasional camera use. I do not play games on my phones, nor do I let my device idle for long. With this pattern. I managed to hit 5-6 hours of screen on time (with about 60% of screen brightness). In other words, this is an easy two-day battery for frugal users or a full day even for heavy users.

Tecno Phantom 8 Battery

Lastly, there are a tone of battery settings, including an ultra-power mode that dumbs the phone down with basic features. These options are available to help users squeeze additional usage in case they are not close to a power socket.

Software and performance

The Phantom 8 is packed to the brim with a lot, and I mean a lot. I covered most of them here . In summary, think of what Touchwiz was a couple of years ago. That is HI OS v3.0.0 for you, and if that is a bit confusing, imagine this scenario: you can lift the device to receive a call sans hitting the RECEIVE button. You can micromanage how apps behave. What is more, you can theme the entire system, switch between fonts, and so many customization options.  Accompanying these features are a lot of apps that no one asked for. Some of them push ads to the lock screen, which is annoying. However, these are things you can disable. Sadly, most of these apps cannot be uninstalled.

Phantom 8 Lockscreen

Fortunately, the device does not break a sweat pushing these features to action. Apps open fast, and you can keep most of them in memory. I tested up to 30 apps, which switched back and forth without refreshing. I like that.

I don’t know if performance will remain constant for the next 12 months because phones slow down over time. For the moment, performance is not an issue.

Fingerprint performance

This is a great fingerprint scanner if you set it well. I had a stretch of bad luck at first, with multiple inconsistencies. This was solved when I registered each of the two fingers I use twice. Also, you might want to use a case as it helps in reaching it with minimal fumbling.

Tecno Phantom 8 Back

There are three of them; two at the back and one on the front. Tecno couldn’t skip the urge to include a dual camera, which is a welcome addition. Notably, there are several ways Tecno could have implemented this; use a normal and ultra-wide sensor like LG, adopt a colour and b/w sensor the Huawei way, or wide angle and telephoto like Apple does.

Tecno’s approach is the last one with a normal 12 MP and a tele 13 MP sensor with 2X zoom that does not compromise on quality, at least in theory.

The camera app has several shooting modes. One of them is Refocus that focuses on a subject and blurs the background.

I’m no camera expert, but I will tell you the photos taken by the Phantom 8 are rich in fine detail when the primary 12 MP camera is used to the fullest. While noise can be spotted in tricky setups, especially in low light, colours are nicely balanced.

However, this is not the case when the secondary camera is used especially in portrait mode. Edges are inaccurately cut, and blurring is done wrong in some occasions.

Phantom 8 Refocus

Its rate of success is below average, and okay results are pegged on distance between the subject and the background. Fortunately, these are issues that can be improved with software updates.

Phantom 8 Refocus

The front camera is excellent. The details are there, colours are well balanced, and there is no way you will get poor self portraits with it.

phantom 8 review

Lastly, you will get cleaner images if you keep the standard 1.0x zoom distance, and while you will get zoomed in images at 2.0x, quality depreciates significantly with washed out pictures.

Key findings and others

  • The Phantom 8 has lots of storage at 64 GB and as of writing this review, I haven’t filled half of it.
  • Music playback is fair, but I have heard better quality from competitors. On the bright side, the included earphones are awesome.
  • Speakers sound okay and loud.
  • No, there is no wireless charging here.
  • The device also lacks some form of Ingress Protection, so do not put it under water.
  • Hi OS v3.0.0 could be leaner. It feels a little bloated with a bunch of features that are not necessary. Also, it ships with Android 7.0, which is not the latest around. The company has not given a word about the Oreo ETA, but my guess is that it will happen in the course of Q1 2018.
  • Camera performance is great for the price.
  • Battery life is terrific.
  • Day to day performance is admirable.
  • Diamond Fire Design is a drastic departure from Tecno’s previous design concepts. In this case, the back of the device has a polished glass back that reflects light to give a shimmering touch that reflects light. It looks great, but just make sure you keep your cleaning cloth around.

The Tecno Phantom 8 is available across multiple stores, including official Tecno outlets for KES 37,000. Telkom Kenya sells it for the same price, with a gift hamper and 2.5 GB of free data.

phantom 8 review

RELATED ARTICLES MORE FROM AUTHOR

 width=

Foldable Smartphone Market Growing with Huawei and Samsung Dominant

 width=

Best TECNO Smartphones in Kenya and Where To Buy Them

 width=

TECNO Isn’t Stopping at Foldables, Here’s Their Rollable Smartphone

 width=

TECNO Planning to Launch Phantom V Flip Later This Year

 width=

TECNO Camon 20 Scoops MUSE Design Awards 2023

 width=

TECNO Unveils New Magic Skin for Its Smartphones

Now please do a comparison with it’s sibling from another mother, the Zero 5, I feel from this review like they are too similar to be different. But the tecno is more expensive! It would be wonderful if we can understand why.

This is currently underway…

[…] TECNO Phantom 8 Review: Great Dual Camera Phone but There’s More […]

[…] also amazing even though it lagged behind as a camera phone but the biggest disappointment was the Phantom 8, so here’s what we’d like to see you improve […]

I noticed some apps (e.g. Outlook, gmail, yahoo, skype and the likes) which i expect to be giving notifications die off after some time. For example, if i open skype, it refreshes and i get notifications which i presume i should have been able to get as soon as they were sent. The notifications for new messages will keep coming even after i close the app, then they stop until i open the app again. How can i solve this? Is there a background service stopping them?

This is an issue with HiOS. It freezes apps to save on battery life and improve performance. It’s a win-loose situation.

thanks for the info. is it a feature i can disable? i really need some of these notifications as soon as they’re sent. for example it doesn’t happen for whatsapp

Check under Hi Manager and disable all power saving features.

[…] the OEM drove multiple Camon versions in the market and echoed it further with a dual cam-equipped Phantom 8 that we highlighted in this review. It is an obvious approach by the manufacturer in a bid to squeeze a space in the hotly contested […]

Comments are closed.

Latest News

 width=

Samsung Galaxy S24 Series Kenya Launch Date Revealed

 width=

Kenya Government Adjusts eCitizen Tariffs; What you need to Know

 width=

Safaricom Seeks to Bite into Global Payments Market with New Virtual Card

 width=

Infinix Brings Gen-Z Focused Hot 40 Series to the Kenyan Market

 width=

Adobe to Pay Figma $1 Billion After Acquisition Deal Falls Through

 width=

This Gaming Phone Packs More Power, More Storage and isn’t that Expensive

 width=

Safaricom Loses Market Share for Second Straight Quarter

 width=

How to Check KCPE 2023 Form 1 Selection

 width=

Why Kenya Has More Smartphone Users Than Feature Phone Users

 width=

TECNO Brings IP53 Rating To The Spark 20 Pro

Techweez

TECNO Phantom 8 Review: A Sequel Metamorphosing into a Beast!

phantom 8 review

The Phantom 8, launched on October 22, looks more expensive than its predecessors’ thanks to its impressive build quality, and its powerful specs.

I had the pleasure of using the phone for a week and here’s a full review. Enjoy!

Design The Phantom is draped in a full metal body that helps confer a premium look and bolster the attractiveness and a 5.7 Full HD screen with a 1920 x 1080 pixels display resolution fixed on its surface with a 2.5D curved edge glass. The colors on the display are just simply beautiful, Tecno did a good job at this. While watching videos on the phablet was enjoyable since you could since all the colors, the blacks were blacks though the saturation was fair enough.

The visual highlight of the device is its unique ‘Diamond Fire Design’ that leaves the device glossy and a thing of true beauty. It comes in three different colors: Champagne Gold, Phantom Black, and Galaxy Blue colors.

The smartphone is 7.9mm thick, slimmer than the Samsung Galaxy S8 (8mm).

The Phantom 8 has three basic navigation keys in the lower front bezel while the fingerprint scanner is centrally placed at the back below the camera region.

Below the screen are 3 capacitive soft key buttons: the app switch key, the home key, and the return key.

phantom 8 review

OS The Tecno Phantom 8 brags Android 7.0 Nougat out of the box with HiOS 3.0 on top – promising more optimized and sleeker user interface.

The icons on the HiOS 3.0 are sleek, spontaneous and offer more interaction. The new OS also comes with a couple of themes that offer richer customization.

phantom 8 review

Camera Flying in with a 12MP + 13MP dual cameras at the rear with 10x super zoom, single shot HDR, “4 in 1” skin brightening technology, real-time refocus and filter, ultra-quality super pixel lens with great noise control.

The Phantom 8 also got an exciting new selfie camera makeover – debuting an impressive 20MP bright front Camera alongside a smart dual selfie flash. The double front ring flash ensures that you can capture your legend anywhere even in a low light environment so that no moment goes uncaptured.

phantom 8 review

Tecno added one other feature to its camera dubbed “the super pixel mode” which gives you absolutely amazing picture view. They are sharp and crisp. However, to use this feature, one of the requirements is for one to be really stable just like using a tripod on a DSLR camera while shooting say a scene.

Performance The Phantom 8 is armed with a roaring 6GB RAM to see all your multitasking needs, this is the first Tecno device to come with that RAM capacity. And a built-in storage of 64GB which is quite enough for all the apps you could need as well as your photos and videos, but is still expandable up to 2TB via Micro SD card.

With a 2.6 GHz MediaTek Helio P25 processor for an ultra-fast experience that supports 4G+ at a downloadable speed up to 300Mbps.

With such performance, you can bid farewell to any wasted time while launching apps, multitasking or playing a resource demanding mobile game.

Battery The Phantom 8 comes with a medium capacity built-in battery at 3500mAh with a 50% extra ultra-fast charge capacity, all of which ensures that the device is faster and consumes less energy. The fast charger could get you from 2% to a full charge within 2 to 2 and half hours which is really impressive.

If you’re a moderate user, a single charge can take you upto two (2) days.

Pricing and availability The Tecno Phantom 8 is priced at UGX. 1,220,000 and is available at all TECNO branded shops like Banana Phone World, Hello Mobile, Cross River, Rock Unlimited, Mob Phones among others, as well as online on Jumia.

What we liked

  • Both cameras (the rear and front camera) are really promising, they show details on the subject taken. Plus its auto focus feature gives the camera a 100% go on – allowing users to take photos with blur backgrounds..
  • The build quality.
  • The display.

What we didn’t like

  • The huge bezels on the front of the device –  should have gone with smaller or no bezels at all since most firms are now doing away with it.
  • The earphones/headsets that come with the phone.

Photos by @penywaru

Photo of Jeddy Genrwot

Jeddy Genrwot

Related articles.

Photo of Hackers Predict: The Biggest Cybersecurity Worries in 2024

Hackers Predict: The Biggest Cybersecurity Worries in 2024

Photo of Airtel Africa Plc Appoints New CEO to Succeed Segun Ogunsanya

Airtel Africa Plc Appoints New CEO to Succeed Segun Ogunsanya

Photo of Experts Shed Light on the Lurking Cyber Threats on Fintech in Uganda

Experts Shed Light on the Lurking Cyber Threats on Fintech in Uganda

Photo of Kaspersky: 411,000 Malicious Files Were Unleashed Daily in 2023

Kaspersky: 411,000 Malicious Files Were Unleashed Daily in 2023

Photo of Activator HQ Releases Africa’s Top 100 Business Opportunities to Watch in 2024

Activator HQ Releases Africa’s Top 100 Business Opportunities to Watch in 2024

Photo of Tigo Beats Vodacom, Airtel to Win The Prestigious Ookla Speedtest Award

Tigo Beats Vodacom, Airtel to Win The Prestigious Ookla Speedtest Award

Photo of Every Title Coming to Netflix in January 2024: Lift, Good Grief, and More

Every Title Coming to Netflix in January 2024: Lift, Good Grief, and More

Photo of Top 10 Capacity Planning Software Solutions for Project Managers in 2024

Top 10 Capacity Planning Software Solutions for Project Managers in 2024

Adblock detected.

Home

You are here

Roland fantom.

  • Synthesizers

Roland Fantom

Emerging from the mists of time comes the rejuvenated Fantom, Roland's new flagship workstation synthesizer.

Though Roland's Fantom workstation series hasn't been running as long as The Phantom (a popular American comic strip continuously in print since 1936), it still has, as electronic instruments go, quite a history. First released in 2001 as the 76-note Fantom FA76, the keyboard clung to its identity through a bewildering series of revamps and name changes, culminating in the top-of-the range Fantom G (which I reviewed in SOS January 2009 ). This was followed by the FA08, a more affordable, scaled-down descendant reviewed with typical incision by Gordon Reid in 2014. Since then, all has been quiet on the Fantom front (dramatic pause, drum roll)...

Until now (cymbal crash)! With little advance warning, Roland have unleashed a new flagship workstation-cum-synthesizer which builds on the Fantom's legacy with a brand-new design developed from the ground up for modern music production. Called simply the Fantom, it comes in three models: Fantom 6 (61 keys), Fantom 7 (76 keys) and the 88-key Fantom 8, henceforth referred to as F-6, F-7 and F-8. Given Roland's recent incursions into the world of modular and boutique synths, it comes as something of a surprise (though not an unpleasant one) to see them reviving this classic product line. But that's the thing with phantoms — they tend to come back and haunt you.

Fantom Design

Constructed of tough metal, the new Fantom is designed to stand up to the rigours of life on the road — just as well, because I can see many gigging keyboard players wanting to get their hands on one. Roland take pride in the instruments' keyboards: the F-8 uses the PHA-50 'progressive hammer action' (which simulates the subtle 'escapement' bump and slightly heavier bass-note feel of a real grand piano), while the F-6 and F-7 use the new semi-weighted SK-14 action. All three feature a newly designed aftertouch sensor. These actions are optimised for low noise, so when you're practising Jordan Rudess licks at 3am, the sound of furiously rattling keys shouldn't annoy your neighbours, partner or cats.

I opted for the semi-weighted action and chose the F-6 model for this review. Prior to that I'd spent some time playing the F-8 at Roland's Artist Relations Centre in London. Sadly none of my relations were there, but I appreciated the pianistic feel of the 88-key instrument, and subsequently found the F-6 action to be perfectly agreeable — though I must admit, I do miss the cheerful rattle of the old G6 keys!

The internal sound engine is identical for all three instruments. If you want to expand the F-6's five-octave playing range, you can use front-panel buttons to raise or lower the playing register by up to three octaves, while the 'transpose' button allows you to shift the key range in semitones, up to five down and six up (a little confusing, I feel: 11 semitones each way would have been better).

I was glad to see the new Fantom has old-school separate pitch and modulation wheels, an improvement on the all-in-one sprung-lever joystick used on previous models. But surprisingly, the joystick is still there, occupying pride of place at the front left of the instrument. I was all set to moan about the wheels being set back eight inches from the front (a design feature that invariably gets the raspberry in keyboard reviews), but in light of the joystick's inclusion, it's probably the only way it would work — and anyway, I've got long arms.

Something New

Reflecting the age we live in, the instrument's seven-inch colour touch–screen offers smartphone-style scrolling on some of the longer menus. The back panel sports five USB sockets: two handle, respectively, data back-up and computer connection, the other three are for connecting external devices. This computer integration enables the Fantom to control popular DAWs such as Logic Pro X, and when connected to apps such as Logic MainStage, plug-in parameters can be displayed on its touch-screen. At present no software editor is available; Roland feel that's not a high priority given the complete, comprehensive user interface and high-resolution touch-screen.

Other innovations include colourful RGB pads, a fun 'motion pad' (reminiscent of Omnisphere 2's Orb and the Korg Wavestation Vector joystick), which mobilises the volume balance of four layered sounds, either manually or automatically. In addition to the regular filter (details below), there's an onboard analogue filter with its own dedicated audio outputs, handy if you want to run external signals through it. Applying the analogue filter to internal sounds involves a somewhat counter-intuitive effects-routing palaver, but once I'd figured it out I was rewarded by a sound that was subtly warmer, fatter and undeniably louder, with optional overdrive and a hint of amp simulator thrown in.

Features carried over from the G series include chord memory (which enables a large menu of preset chord shapes to be triggered with one finger), an arpeggiator and step LFO, which can be used to create beats and synth phrases.

Modus Operandi

While the new features are all useful, in my book the most important innovation in the new Fantom is its performance concept, which I feel will make life a lot easier for players. Gone are the unnecessarily proscriptive Studio/Live/Single modes of the Fantom G; in their place is an open, mode-free architecture with instant access to sounds, controls and features.

Editing is instant: if you want to adjust the filter on a synth, you can reach for the large, brightly illuminated cutoff knob and immediately start twirling, whereupon a back-lit interactive graph displaying filter cutoff and resonance settings in a combined curve appears on screen. Cease twirling for a second or so, and the graph disappears. No need to scrabble about with 'patch edit' and 'filter' buttons before making changes — you can perform real-time edits as you play, with no trace of sonic discontinuity.

Other quick-change panel parameters include illuminated rotary ADSR controls for amp, filter and pitch envelopes, each of which displays its own interactive graph when you make a change. For deeper, more deliberative sound editing, there are 'zoom' and 'pro' edit modes, the former being a selection of the latter's most commonly used settings.

Return Of The V-Piano

To backtrack slightly, in 2009 Roland released an intriguing new digital piano. Part of the company's 'V' series (V-Drums, V-Guitar, etc), the V-Piano cost over five grand and weighed in at a back-breaking 38kg, so was never going to be the stage piano of choice for your average gigging musician. However, it had one distinct advantage over its competitors: rather than using samples, the piano sound was created by physical modelling.

Doing away with samples meant there were no awkward jumps in timbre between keyboard zones and dynamic layers — this thing sounded utterly smooth, and the overall piano timbre (modelled on classic grand pianos with additional innovative timbres) was attractive and convincing. My SOS colleague was impressed, and leading players added their plaudits. (Read Nick Magnus's review in the May 2009 issue.)

Fans of the V-Piano will be glad to know that the instrument has been revived and now lives on inside the new Fantom. Benefiting from new coding and improved sound quality, it sounds great — vibrant, bright and open, the most playable workstation piano I've come across. The piano is infinitely customisable, offering users control of lid open/shut position, hammer, damper and key-off noise, resonance settings for string, damper, key–off, cabinet and sound board, and duplex scaling (no, I didn't know what that was either).

You can also change the volume level, tonal character (harder, or more mellow) and tuning of each key. The latter will be welcomed by users who write music in non-Western tunings, and could also be used to create a realistic honky-tonk effect!

This durable, epoch-spanning keyboard workstation looks set to be a future classic.

Structural Overview

In the new Fantom, the smallest indivisible unit of sound is called a wave, which could be an instrument multisample or a single drum hit. At the time of writing Roland haven't published a wave list, but I counted 2108, spanning the gamut of musical timbre from acoustic to electronic.

A single instrumental sound called a 'Tone' consists of four partials, each housing a wave of some description.

There are over 3500 tones, presented in containers called 'Zones'; a 'Scene' contains 16 zones, and you can specify different MIDI receive channels (though, apparently, not 'omni' mode) for each one.

The Fantom's separate zone, scene and master effects makes for some quite complex effects routing!

Scenes, which store effects, EQ settings and sequence data for each zone, are the Fantom's default performing state. A Scene Chain function allows you to assemble live performance playlists, and/or group together your favourite scenes for quick access. Scenes are stored in four banks of 128, with 16 visible on screen at one time: the banks contain 272 factory presets, leaving 240 slots free for user scenes. There are also over 1800 empty slots where you can save your tone edits.

The Fantom incorporates three sound engines, called Zen-Core, Drum and the aforementioned V-Piano. The mysteriously named Zen-Core fuses a new synth sound engine (based on VA technology developed for the V-Synth) with Roland's long-standing PCM engine, and is used to produce the sound of a single instrument such as an organ or synth. As you'd expect, the prosaically named 'Drum' engine contains a collection of drum and percussion kits, with a different sound on each key.

At present the instrument's ROM size has not been disclosed, but I can tell you that, in practical terms, polyphony is unlimited — you can perform full-range piano glissandi with the sustain pedal down over an elaborate sequenced backing without any trace of voices dropping out or glitching.

New forum posts

  • Re: Small portable 2 track recorder James Perrett > 03 Jan 2024, 19:29 Recording: Gear & Techniques
  • Re: Mic adaptor question: Sennheiser ME2 II to XLR Wonks > 03 Jan 2024, 19:09 Live Sound & Performance
  • Re: BBE MP24M Wi-Fi module Tom2Much > 03 Jan 2024, 19:02 Live Sound & Performance
  • Re: Strymon Iridium ore_terra > 03 Jan 2024, 18:41 Guitar Technology
  • Re: Mic adaptor question: Sennheiser ME2 II to XLR alexis > 03 Jan 2024, 18:36 Live Sound & Performance

Active topics

  • Mic adaptor question: Sennheiser ME2 II to XLR
  • Small portable 2 track recorder
  • Anyone tried the latest version of Guitar Rig?
  • Strymon Iridium
  • About level of db
  • AMS Neve 8801 Channel strip
  • BBE MP24M Wi-Fi module
  • VSTBuzz: Up to 97% off 3 New Deals from Goldbaby, Karanyi Sounds & AIR Music Tech
  • Electronic music collaborate
  • Vochlea update Dubler 2

Recently active forums

  • Recording: Gear & Techniques
  • Mixing, Mastering & Post Production
  • New Products & Industry News
  • Music Business
  • Windows Music
  • Apps & Other Computers/OS
  • Guitar Technology
  • Keyboards & Synthesis
  • DIY Electronics & Studio Design
  • Live Sound & Performance
  • Music Theory, Songwriting & Composition
  • User Reviews
  • Remote Collaboration
  • Self-Promotion

Create an account

           

  • My Wishlist
  • Trade in or Cash Back
  • Return Policy
  • Pay On Delivery
  • Answers / Discussions
  • Ask / Create Topics

Pointek: Online Shopping for Phones, Electronics, Gadgets & Computers

  • Partner Mobile

phantom 8 review

  • Airconditioners
  • DVD Players
  • Home Theatre
  • Standing Fan
  • Small Appliances
  • Washing Machines

phantom 8 review

  • Data Cables
  • Data Storage
  • Earpiece And Headsets
  • Smart Watch
  • Tempered Glass
  • Games & Consoles
  • Samsung Phones
  • Tecno Phones
  • Best iPhone Deals
  • Pointek Blog
  • Corporate Sales

Returning Customer ?

Don't have an account ?

Pointek: Online Shopping for Phones, Electronics, Gadgets & Computers

  • Search Search for:

The Tecno Phantom 8: Full Review and Specification

The Tecno Phantom 8 is one smart phone with some really mind-blowing specs. As a flagship device, Tecno spared nothing to make this their best phone ever. With the device unlocked, you are fully able to see the 5.7 FHD display. The screen is not an OLED display, so you are not getting the super rich and vibrant colors specifically in the reds and blues. But, overall, the Phantom 8’s screen is still a pleasure to look at, plus, sunlight visibility is quite good. You’d also experience the UI which isn’t stock Android because Tecno used the latest HiOS — HiOS 3.0. The overall experience is in two ways.

You can further tweak the option by choosing between the single launcher (which places all the apps on the home screen) or the Standard launcher (this comes with an app drawer).  Speaking of storage, the Phantom 8’s UI and Android’s OS has used up about 24% of the 64GB storage, so you only have about 48GB left, but there is the MicroSD card option. For all our Music Lovers, Tecno is offering the Boom Play as the default music player, although you still have Google Play Music.

The camera is surely one of the biggest highlights of the Phantom 8, it doesn’t come with Pro camera settings and the ability to shoot in 4K.  The Phantom 8 comes with a dual camera setup at the back the first camera is the main camera — this is also used for the 2x optical zoom.

With regards to the battery stamina, the 3500mAh on the Phantom 8 is okay to meet your daily needs, it can last the whole day on “moderate use.”

Tecno Phantom 8 Basic Specs

SIM:  Dual Sim Operating System:   HiOS based on Android 7.0 Network : 4G / 3G / 2G 4G LTE Bands:  FDD LTE 4G: 1/2/3/4/5/7/8/20/28A. TD LTE 4G: 38/40 Dimensions:  159.95mmx79.4mmx7.9mm Display:  5.7 inch FHD display CPU:  2.6 Ghz Octa-core processor Memory:  64GB+6GB RAM Expandable Micro SD, up to 2TB Camera:  12/13MP dual AF rear cameras, 20MP front Connectivity:  WIFI, Bluetooth, USB type-C Sensors:  Fingerprint scanner, G-sensor Battery:  3500mAh Battery

Related Articles

Get ready to rock with the iphone 15, exclusively at pointek 📣, where to preorder and buy the samsung galaxy z fold 5 & samsung z flip 5, samsung galaxy s22| s22 plus| s22 ultra and what to expect.

Create New Topic

phantom 8 review

  • Phone Finder

Tecno Phantom 8

  • Released 2018, April 185g, 7.9mm thickness Android 7.0 64GB storage, microSDXC
  • 0.1% 328,796 hits
  • 6 Become a fan
  • 5.7" 1080x1920 pixels
  • 13 MP 2160p
  • 6 GB RAM Helio P25
  • 3500 mAh Li-Ion

Disclaimer. We can not guarantee that the information on this page is 100% correct. Read more

Tecno Phantom 8 - user opinions and reviews

  • 23 Nov 2023

Why isn't watsapp working with phantom 8

  • 06 Oct 2023

Phantom 8 has now cancelled my appointment 4 times in a row would recommend going somewhere else they don't care about your time took multiple days off for the appointment they still canceled regardless of what I had going on never tried to work...

  • 12 Sep 2023

While receiving watsapp icon through xender,it doesn't install

  • Read all opinions
  • Post your opinion

phantom 8 review

Home News Reviews Compare Coverage Glossary FAQ RSS feed Youtube Facebook Twitter Instagram

© 2000-2023 GSMArena.com Mobile version Android app Tools Contact us Merch store Privacy Terms of use Change Ad Consent Do not sell my data

Snapiverse

Phantom A8 Smart Electric Scooter Review

Phantom A8 Smart Electric Scooter Review

In this review, we will explore the features, specifications, and components of the Phantom A8 smart electric scooter. Drawing from our experience with various electric scooters, we aim to provide you with valuable insights to help you determine whether the Phantom A8 is a worthwhile purchase. Let’s delve deeper into its details.

  • Range up to 25 miles
  • Rear Holding Latch
  • Gyroscopic Assisted Steering
  • BMS (Battery Management System)
  • Outdated Design
  • Pretty Expensive

phantom 8 review

This is the Phantom A8 outside of the box. It is recommended for ages 12 and up and features a 350W hub motor. Additionally, there are some important warnings to consider.

phantom 8 review

On the other side of the box, it is written that a battery management system protects the board, and gyroscopic-assisted steering ensures stability, handling, and efficiency. It also features regenerative energy recovery, which maximizes the range. Additionally, an automatic proximity lock is provided, offering a range of up to 28 miles, along with a range tracker.

phantom 8 review

On the left side of the box, you’ll find specifications that include details about the range, top speed, motor, and more. We will delve into these specifications further in the upcoming review. Notably, the e-scooter is made in China.

phantom 8 review

Now, this is how it looks on the outside of the box. Upon opening the box, you’ll find a foldable support bar, a handle, and a user manual, which may not be needed. Additionally, there’s the battery charger, and last but not least, the heart of the electric scooter, the screws.

Also Read- NAVIC T5 Electric Scooter Review

phantom 8 review

This is what it looks like after assembling the scooter, thanks to the 7 screws required for assembly. There’s also a little kickstand that pops out, allowing you to stand the scooter upright.

phantom 8 review

When it comes to folding the scooter, you just have to pull out the red button, and the scooter will collapse.

phantom 8 review

At the front side of the tire, you will find a charging port. It’s important to remember that the scooter doesn’t have any swappable feature that allows you to remove the battery.

phantom 8 review

Now, let’s talk about its display. To use the GogoApp, simply scan the QR code to download the PhantomGogo App, log in, and follow the prompts to bind the scooter.

Press the power button to turn it on, and hold it for 3 seconds to shut it down. In the powered-on state, press the button once to toggle the light on/off, and press it twice consecutively to switch between gears.

The estimated range will be displayed after powering on, and it will disappear automatically after 6 seconds.

The scooter has three gears: L for low, M for medium, and H for high.

Table of Contents

Specifications

The Phantom A8 smart electric scooter is powered by a 350W motor and boasts a top speed of 15.5 mph. It offers an impressive range of up to 25 miles and can handle inclines with a gradeability of 15 degrees. Charging its 36V/10.4Ah battery pack takes 5.5 hours, and it has a weight limit of 220 lbs.

Furthermore, the scooter comes with IPX5 protection, guarding against water and dust exposure. It features electric brakes and a rear disc brake, ensuring reliable stopping power. The battery management system safeguards against Overcharging, Over-temperature, Over-discharging, Over-current, and Short circuits.

The scooter also includes LED headlights for added safety during night rides. Additionally, it boasts gyroscopic-assisted steering, a regenerative braking system, and app connectivity. The app allows for speed adjustments, ride tracking, and electronic locking.

The look and design of the Phantom A8 smart electric scooter are considered outdated and not particularly unique, given the plethora of design options available in the market. However, one notable feature we appreciate in the scooter is the rear holding latch, which easily transforms it into a one-handed, easy-to-carry scooter. Additionally, it features Phantom Gogo branding on the support bar and an LED headlight at the front.

where to buy

The scooter is available for $449 at Costco and Amazon as well.

The electric scooter is sold on two platforms with distinct names i.e. Phantom A8 Smart and Phantomgogo A8, so don’t be confused while purchasing.

phantom 8 review

if you are looking for the best alternative at an affordable price, you should these scooters Volpam SP06 , Atomi A20 , and NAVIC T5 .

This concludes our review of the Phantom A8 smart electric scooter. We believe it’s a suitable choice if you’re in search of an electric scooter for daily commuting and college exploration. The e-scooter left a positive impression with its impressive 25-mile range, the convenience of the holding latch, and the benefits of gyroscopic-assisted steering. However, it’s worth noting that the scooter’s design is considered outdated, which might not be to everyone’s liking. Additionally, the price point of $449 may be disappointing to some, even though the scooter offers a plethora of features.

Avatar photo

Hi guys! I'm Ryder Parker, an electric scooter and bike enthusiast with a passion for writing about these awesome rides. I combine my extensive experience in the field with hands-on testing and research to provide you with honest, value-packed reviews.

Leave a Comment Cancel reply

Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment.

Notify me of new posts by email.

  • Accessories
  • App Reviews
  • Smartphones

Guides On Android, Apple, Apps, Movies - Crunchise

Tecno Phantom 8 Review – You Should Possibly Save Your Money!

In 2017, what makes a smartphone worth buying? Up to date specs, price point and in this current age, branding, right?

The Tecno Phantom 8 was launched a couple of weeks back and since then, I’ve been trying to get my hands on the device so I can share a comprehensive review for you guys but all to no avail.

Regardless, I have decided to share my opinion on the Tecno Phantom 8 based on it’s specifications, reviews and videos I have come across.

Hopefully, should I eventually get my hands on a unit, I could put up an updated extensive review of the smartphone.

Table Of Contents

Tecno Phantom 8 Key Specifications

Tecno phantom 8 performance review, tecno phantom 8 camera review, tecno phantom 8 alternative, tecno phantom 8 review.

Just to be clear, everything stated here and in the video below is totally my opinion and isn’t supposed to discredit the brand or the smartphone. This is me being as honest as i can possibly be.

For convenience sake, this post is going to be limited in pictures. If you are interested in seeing more exclusive pictures and videos to better convey my message, you should check out the video below. It’s worth watching.

First things first, let’s take a quick look at the key specifications of the Tecno Phantom 8 .

Tecno Phantom 8 specs

The smartphone features a 5.7 inch display with a resolution of 1080 x 1920 pixels referred to as FHD. You get the usual MediaTek chip. Precisely An Helio P25 MediaTek octa-core processor clocked at 2.6GHz with 6GB of RAM.

What that means is, you are getting a phone that’s slightly faster compared to other devices from the Tecno brand.

Other key specification includes a 64GB internal storage which can be expanded up to 2TB using external SD card. Wait, what do you need that much storage? What do you plan storing with 2TB on a smartphone? Your life history??

You also get a dual 12 megapixels + 13 megapixels back camera with auto focus accompanied by 20 megapixels front facing shooter. Android 7.0 nougat customized with HiOS under the hood and powering all of these, is a 3500mAh non removable battery.

Now, obviously these specs ain’t top notch. I mean, judging by other flagship devices in this current age. But then again, the price and the brand at this point, will determine whether or not, the device is worth buying.

For N128,000 which should be around $350 dollars or there about, do you think the device is worth buying?

I did come across a few videos pointing out the performance of the device. The Tecno Phantom 8 was paired up against the iPhone 6 Plus and the former did perform better in terms of launching apps and games. But then, the iPhone 6 Plus is a 3 year old smartphone with 1GB RAM while the phantom 8 is a 2017 smartphone with 4GB RAM.

The Phantom 8 was also paired up against the Samsung galaxy S8 plus in another video and the Galaxy S8 plus did perform better in terms of performance. Bear in mind though, the Samsung Galaxy S8 Plus runs a snapdragon chip with 4GB of RAM. Apparently, Samsung’s snapdragon processor with 4GB RAM performs better.

I also did come across a few pictures shot using the Phantom 8. And no doubt, the picture quality looks really nice and crispy. Bear in mind, the device features a dual back camera set up. A 12+13 megapixels back camera. And while this is fascinating and new on the tecno train, only one of these cameras is actually fully utilized as the main camera and as the 2x optical zoom camera.

The second camera is said to be handy only in terms of focusing. But, I’d feel skeptical about this. Based on some of the pictures seen which clearly showcases the bokeh (Pictures can be seen in the video) effect, it seems more like a software achieved effect. Some parts seem washed out courtesy of the refocusing thingy. But then again, it will really be nice to actually justify whether or not my skepticism is on point.

If picture quality is all that matters, the Tecno Phantom 8 pretty much covers that angle.

In my opinion, for that same price range, you can get a UK used Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge which comes with a way much better display (we are talking 5.5inch Super AMOLED display with Quad HD resolution here).

Samsung galaxy s7 edge price on jiji.ng

You also get loads of other cool attractions like the corning Gorilla Glass 4 screen protection, curved edge display which I really fancy, a snapdragon processor with 4GB of RAM. The Galaxy S7 Edge is also IP68 certified which means you shouldn’t be scared of your phone falling into water. You also get the chance to record videos in 4K unlike the Phantom 8 which limits you to 1080p.

You are also gonna be getting a slightly better battery, a 3600mAh battery to be precise. Although there is a slight reduction in the megapixel count, megapixel count doesn’t always translate to better images. The censor being used is what counts. It will be nice to actually stack up the Tecno Phantom 8 against the Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge in the camera department. Here are some samples shots taken on the Galaxy S7 Edge.

A little addition though, you are getting wireless charging on the Galaxy S7 Edge. This isn’t available on the Phantom 8.

Again, this is where branding comes to play. You obviously cannot compare a Samsung device to a Tecno device and I wouldn’t wanna go about why. But just to give you an insight, the Galaxy S7 Edge launched with Android marshmallow OS and can currently be upgraded to Android Nougat. The device will most definitely be eligible for Android Oreo when it becomes globally available. And there is a chance of the device getting the Android P (hopefully) next year.

In the case of the Tecno Phantom 8, the smartphone ships with Android Nougat and could get the Oreo update when it becomes globally available. However, there is a huge chance the device won’t get the Android P update hopefully next year.

But then again, this is just my opinion. My opinion may change should I get the chance to extensively play and compare the phone against others. But for now, I’d rather save my N128,000.

Over to you, what do you think? Based on the specs, price and brand awareness, would you consider the Tecno Phantom 8 a buy or a skip?

RELATED ARTICLES MORE FROM AUTHOR

VKworld Mix Plus Design

VKWorld Mix Plus Review – Best Budget Bezel-less Smartphone In 2018?

VKworld Mix Plus unboxing

VKworld Mix Plus Unboxing and First Impressions – $100 3GB RAM, 32GB ROM Smartphone?

tecno phantom 8

Tecno Phantom 8 Full Phone Specifications, Price and Availability 

Infinix HOT 4 and HOT 5 design

Infinix HOT 5 x559c Review VS Infinix HOT 4 x557 – Gaming, Camera Test

Infinix HOT 5 unboxing + quick hands-on review

Infinix HOT 5 Unboxing + Quick Hands-On Review

Infinix hot 5 and infinix hot 5 lite color variants

Infinix HOT 5 and HOT 5 Lite Specs Compared To Infinix HOT 4, What’s New?

Most definitely not. Your points are valid. NGN128K seem too much for a tecno phone.

Will save my money, this is a personal decision of course. Thanks for pointing out a few obvious. Good work Sam. Happy New month to you too.

LEAVE A REPLY Cancel reply

Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment.

Notify me of follow-up comments by email.

Notify me of new posts by email.

Consider Reading

VKworld Mix Plus Design

Xender For iPhone – How To Connect and Transfer Files With Android

access gmail account offline using googlemail offline extension

How To Access Gmail Account Offline Without Internet Connection

phantom 8 review

Fix Capacitive Back / Menu Buttons No Longer Working On Xiaomi Android Phone

Downloading, installing and using Spotify on iPhone in Nigeria

How to Download, Install and Use Spotify on iPhone In Nigeria, India or Outside US

send direct message (DM) on instagram

How To Send Direct Message (DM) On Instagram – Complete Guide

IMAGES

  1. Rolls-Royce Phantom VIII Review

    phantom 8 review

  2. Tecno Phantom 8 Review, Specs and price

    phantom 8 review

  3. Tecno Phantom 8 Review. Big Slab Of Metal And Glass, Big Gives And

    phantom 8 review

  4. ROLLS ROYCE PHANTOM 8 REVIEW

    phantom 8 review

  5. Tecno Phantom 8 Full specification Reviews

    phantom 8 review

  6. TECNO Phantom 8 Review: A Sequel Metamorphosing into a Beast!

    phantom 8 review

VIDEO

  1. Rolls Royce Phantom 8

  2. The Extraordinary Tecno Mobiles Phantom X2 5G (curved AMOLED, 120Hz, D9000)

  3. DJI Phantom 4 Upgrade Bundles

  4. Evolution of Rolls-Royce phantom(1904-2023)#shorts_

  5. Rolls Royce Phantom 8 Series 1 in Chennai 🤍 #rollsroyce #phantom #luxurycars #shorts #chennai 😍🤍

  6. Is the DJI Phantom 3 Standard Worth it? (2017)

COMMENTS

  1. Scotty Cameron Phantom X 8 & 8.5 Putter Review

    Introduction After a few years of small releases, Scotty Cameron came to the 2019 PGA Show with a massive line of new putters. In all, there are nine new putters: five different heads, most with two neck options. In this review, I'll take a look at the Scotty Cameron Phantom X 8 and Phantom X 8.5. Looks

  2. Phantom X 8

    1 2 3 4 5 "Mallet players are very particular. What might appeal to one may not be what another is looking for. I created Phantom X to offer options I thought would appeal to all types of mallet players. The 8 is new territory and entirely 'next level'. No distractions. All alignment in a shape that sits like a fighter jet wing." — Scotty Cameron

  3. Roland Fantom-8 review

    Pros + Well-built with a clear, snappy touchscreen + Powerful step LFOs, multimode analogue filter/drive and great sequencing, sampling and effects + Streams multiple audio channels over USB, CV/gate outs

  4. Anyone heard of the phantom a8? : r/ElectricScooters

    1 Syndil1 • 8 mo. ago Looks like an a9 with possibly a smaller battery. Has 9" solid tires and no suspension, so that's a definite no from me. https://phantomgogo.com/products/a9 PGLance • 8 mo. ago Hi, The A8 and A9 are actually identical scooters and the only difference is in the name. Don't ask me why this is the case as it wasn't my choice.

  5. Roland Fantom-08 review: Road-testing the all-rounder workstation

    Our rating 8 Our verdict ⊕ Incredibly lightweight for fully weighted keys ⊕ Responsive 5.5-inch touchscreen ⊕ Key-specific splits and up to 16 layers make it a live performance beast ⊕ Zen-Core synthesis and SuperNatural instruments deliver thousands of vintage and modern tones ⊕ Highly streamlined sampling and sequencing capabilities

  6. Phantom A8 Smart Electric Scooter

    Home Sports & Fitness Bikes, Scooters & Boards Scooters +4 Phantom A8 Smart Electric Scooter Item 1701742 4.1 (144) Write a review Your Price - -.- -$ Price Per : $-.- - Shipping & Handling Included* Features: Color: Gray Material: Aluminum, Rubber 350W Electric Motor Up to 25-Mile Range Companion Bluetooth App Share Print Delivery ZIP Code

  7. Titleist Scotty Cameron Phantom X Putter Review

    May 07, 2019 The Scotty Cameron Phantom X range replaces the Futura line of mallet putters and Scotty decided to give it a new name because the Phantom putters use a new style of head design. The aim is to create high MOI mallets that are more mid-sized so that they will appeal to better players who currently use blade style putters.

  8. Roland FANTOM-8 Music Workstation Keyboard Reviews

    This keyboard is awesome; however, the 88- key version, I feel, is more for studio work rather than taking it out on the road for live gigs. The knobs, sliders, and buttons are easy to get to. I've had it since mid-july 2022 and am still creating new tones to lay on top of others. When I got it, I set it up and started to experiment.

  9. Roland Fantom 8 Synthesizer/Workstation Keyboard Review ...

    🎹Roland Fantom 8 Synthesizer/Workstation Keyboard Review & Demo | 88-Key, PHA-50 Action🎹 - YouTube 0:00 / 38:54 • Intro 🎹Roland Fantom 8 Synthesizer/Workstation Keyboard Review & Demo |...

  10. Scotty Cameron Phantom X Putters Review

    Scotty Cameron Phantom X Putters Review. This popular mallet range was recently extended with the launch of the Phantom X 11.5 model and this certainly enhances the offering. It is undoubtedly more traditional in looks - gone is the yellow color scheme and in comes a white sightline on a black flange, making alignment easer to see.

  11. TECNO Phantom 8 Review: Great Dual Camera Phone but There's More

    It increases the mass of the device, but on the bright side, your Phantom 8 will be protected. Notably, 2017 continues to be the year of dual camera sensors, and the Phantom 8 fits into that narrative. It packs 12 MP and 13 MP cameras with a slight protrusion at the back with a triple-tone LED flash.

  12. TECNO Phantom 8 Review: Too Expensive or Worth it?

    After using the TECNO Phantom 8 for over a week, here are my thoughts on the Phantom 8. In this video I give my full review of the Phantom 8 and ask the most...

  13. Roland Fantom 8 Review : Ask.Audio

    Control Freak One of the features I was most excited about exploring was the connectivity with a computer DAW or MainStage. I had the opportunity to try out the Fantom 8 at NAMM last year, but there were no workstations available to try this feature out.

  14. Phantom GOGO A8 Smart Electric Scooter

    Phantom GOGO A8 Smart Electric Scooter from Costco.Costco Link: https://www.costco.com/phantom-a8-smart-electric-scooter.product.4000152928.html

  15. Tecno Phantom 8 Review: Your Questions Answered.

    The Phantom 8 Review is here, guys. Let me know what you think

  16. TECNO Phantom 8 Review: A Sequel Metamorphosing into a Beast!

    The Phantom 8, launched on October 22, looks more expensive than its predecessors' thanks to its impressive build quality, and its powerful specs. I had the pleasure of using the phone for a ...

  17. Roland Fantom

    Reviews Roland Fantom Workstation Synthesizer Keyboards Synthesizers By Dave Stewart Published November 2019 Emerging from the mists of time comes the rejuvenated Fantom, Roland's new flagship workstation synthesizer.

  18. The Tecno Phantom 8: Full Review and Specification

    The Phantom 8 comes with a dual camera setup at the back the first camera is the main camera — this is also used for the 2x optical zoom. With regards to the battery stamina, the 3500mAh on the Phantom 8 is okay to meet your daily needs, it can last the whole day on "moderate use." Tecno Phantom 8 Basic Specs. SIM: Dual Sim

  19. The Truth about the Tecno Phantom 8

    This is my Full review of the Tecno Phantom 8. Highlighting the truths concerning this device. This should put your fears to rest and help you determine if t...

  20. Tecno Phantom 8

    Tecno Phantom 8 - user opinions and reviews v vee r3c 23 Nov 2023 Why isn't watsapp working with phantom 8 Reply K KLB IbL 06 Oct 2023

  21. Phantom A8 Smart Electric Scooter Review

    Phantom A8 Smart Electric Scooter Review October 21, 2023 by Ryder Parker In this review, we will explore the features, specifications, and components of the Phantom A8 smart electric scooter.

  22. Tecno Phantom 8 Review

    This is the Tecno Phantom 8 Review. Although i couldn't get my hands on a unit to exclusively test and review, i decided to share my opinion on the device ba...

  23. Tecno Phantom 8 Review

    The Phantom 8 was also paired up against the Samsung galaxy S8 plus in another video and the Galaxy S8 plus did perform better in terms of performance. Bear in mind though, the Samsung Galaxy S8 Plus runs a snapdragon chip with 4GB of RAM. Apparently, Samsung's snapdragon processor with 4GB RAM performs better. Tecno Phantom 8 Camera Review

  24. 2024 Rolls-Royce Spectre First Drive Review: Perfection ...

    Jan 3, 2024. When Rolls-Royce handed us the keys to its new all-electric $422,750 Spectre coupe and subsequently insisted we compare its silent operation to that of its $354,750 Ghost sedan, it ...